The saga continues…


so…here I was in California… I found a job as an elementary school teacher in South San Jose.

One day, I was in the teacher’s room and on the table was the Sports page of the San Jose Mercury Newspaper…and on the front cover was a large photo of a Korean woman, Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim, smiling, pointing her finger and a class of her Jung SuWon martial art students training in the background… The photo caught my eye and I started to read the article.

It described a woman who started training at the age of 7 in Korea and how she happened to come to the United States and that her school was in some place called “Milpitas”. Being a non-native Californian, I had no idea how to pronounce “Milpitas” much less had any idea where it was.

I asked a few people and found out that it was about 12 miles north of the school where I was teaching.

Friday, June 26, 1991, I decided to visit the school.

….

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “The saga continues…”

  1. markamador Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Very cool blog! I like your vodpod. Jung SuWon is awesome and Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim is the best!!

Leave a Reply

