A Thought…


In my life, I have only met a few people whom I would call real “teachers”. My sophomore year English teacher was the first one. He was off the beaten path…unusual… he didn’t follow the “standard” way of teaching. He actually challenged us to think. I had a hard time with this at first. I didn’t understand what he wanted me to do. I was so used to the rote memorization, the obligatory reading comprehension, the phonics, the spelling, the grammar diagramming… when he asked our class to write an essay on the statement: The end justify the means. I just didn’t get it. I was really confused and flustered because it was the first time in my 10 years of schooling that I didn’t know what to do.

He helped me understand so much … understanding how to analyze, how to see dichotomies, how to interpret Shakespeare…

It was a whole new world for me. If I could’ve had my choice, I would have chosen to keep him as my teacher for the remaining 2 years of my high school.

When I was in college, I had 1 amazing teacher…in the Education department. He was a sensitive person who listened and lectured with ease and humor. He challenged our way of thinking so that we could learn how to teach children.

Then, I met Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim. Like the best teachers I have met, she is unconventional, unexpected, dynamic, intriguing, and captivating.

She doesn’t just lecture from a text book… I had a Psychology class where the professor literally read out of the book for his lectures…

Dr. Kim doesn’t follow the norm.

She is unique in every sense of the word and she is inspiring by what she has accomplished in her life and by how she has helped me in so many different ways.

I have had the great fortune to have met a wonderful teacher who truly changes people’s lives.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

