Life, Love and the Art of Jung SuWon


life

it’s a simple 4 letter word.  But the depth of this word is immeasurable.

the daughter of a friend of a friend passed away recently after a long battle with cancer.

the brother of another friend passed away last month.

the grandfather of another friend is sick and could pass away any day now…

Really, really makes me think about my life…my loved ones…how my life, the quality of my life, has improved more than a thousand times because of my training at Jung SuWon, with Great Grandmaster Kim

When I was in grade school, I was on the A-honor roll for every single report card.

When I was in high school, I was on the Summa Cum Laude honor roll (same as A-honor roll) for every report card.  I was the President of our Interact Club, President of the Honor Council, Captain of the Volleyball team and All District player, on the yearbook staff, newspaper staff, French club, Social Committee…

When I was in college, I graduated Magna Cum Laude. I won an award for Administrative Service to the Community. I was in the Green Key Society in my Junior year; in Fire & Skoal Senior society; 4 years on the Yearbook staff, from photography assistant to Senior Editor; volunteer big sister; a Head Usher at the Hopkins Center; 4 years on the Taekwondo Team & President of the team in my Senior year. I was a Eucharistic Minister at the Catholic Student Center. I was in the Marching Band for 3 years even though I don’t play a marching band instrument! (it was a bell lyre the first year, the cowbell in my 2nd year, and i just marched with my camera in my senior year!)  I earned my Teaching Certification in elementary education the fall term after I graduated.

If anyone looked at my “life resume” up to that point, they might assume that I was very happy & fulfilled in my life.

But, during that time, I didn’t really open my true feelings to anyone.  Even when I was going through a relationship breakup, I kept 98% of my feelings to myself.

I was very lonely.  I wasn’t looking for romantic love at the time.  I was looking for an intimate love that only true friends can feel for each other.  Love that transcends the physical part of a relationship.

I had a couple of friends whom I was close to…but I still withheld the true “me”….. mainly because I didn’t really know who I was.

I have been training in the art of Jung SuWon for a long time…almost half of my life.

I met my soulmate at Jung SuWon in 1991…we dated for 7 years…and this year marks the 11th year of our marriage.

True love such as this is rare.  Meeting someone who communicates and expresses…who understands and is understanding…who encourages me to be the best that I can be and doesn’t feel threatened by or competitive with me. (I say this because I have met many men who could never stand it if I ever “beat” them at a video game or a game of pool…)  But my soulmate is not like that.  He is proud of me and I am proud of him.

He is so wonderful because he, himself, has been training in the art of Jung SuWon for almost 26 years.

So I have to conclude that the martial art training provided by Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim is truly the source of our happiness with each other.  We have both learned how to communicate with each other, even when we have an argument or disagreement about something.  We have learned how to express to each other.  We have learned what it means to be life partners… giving each other respect & honor…love & patience…

For this, I am forever grateful to my teacher & mentor, Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim.

I love my life now…1,000,000%.

I express my love every day.

When was the last time you said “I love you” to the ones you love in YOUR life?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

