Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim is my role model


Who is Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim?

She is my role model. I have seen her work with people of all ages, from age 2 through age 72. It is truly amazing to watch.

I “studied” to be a school teacher and got a teaching certification for elementary school grades. But in those classes that I took, I was not taught HOW to talk to the kids. Or HOW to treat them. The classes assume teaching candidates already “know” how to do this.

I definitely didn’t know.

I have watched Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim speak with kids and treat them not as children but as human beings. And they listen.

In a certain situation, one young girl was caught forging her parents’ signatures on school papers. I was SURE she would be disciplined strongly. Instead, Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim smiled and congratulated the girl on her creativity! Then she talked to the girl about not lying or cheating I watched the girl go from complete fear to looking up to GGM with respect as she promised not to do it again.

It’s not that forgery was being condoned. But instead of guiding the girl with fear, GGM used LOVE. So much so that the girl felt good about herself and promised never to do it again.

It was amazing.

We all treat kids like how WE were treated as kids. But it doesn’t work that way!

I learn so much from Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim. She is an amazing teacher!

Her motto is He Can Do, She Can Do, Why Not Me!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

