Training at Jung SuWon Martial Art Academy


I have been training at the Jung SuWon Martial Art Academy under Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim for over 20 years.

Prior to that, I trained at Dartmouth College for 4 years.

Not everyone was meant to be a martial artist. It’s definitely a different path to take that requires discipline and commitment.

When I was 10 years old, I used to watch all those martial art – kung fu – black belt TV movies every Saturday… I watched Jackie Chan in movies before he was Jackie Chan.

For some reason, I was very attracted to the martial arts and desperately wanted to train, but didn’t have any options in my tiny hometown in Tennessee.

PLUS, my mom is one of those die-hard Korean moms who believe that girls shouldn’t do taekwondo because boys wouldn’t like it…this never stopped me from training in college or after.

When I was 10, I wanted to run away to the mountains of Korea and find a master and train.

I had no idea what this meant. I only knew that it was what I wanted to do.

I ended up taking taekwondo for PE Credit at Dartmouth…then joined the club after my first term… then trained for 4 years.  I became the President of our tiny club and we used to go compete at other IVY league schools.

When I went to France for my language study abroad program, I found a small school at a gym and trained with the Taekwondo master there for 10 weeks.

When I was in Boston for my sophomore Spring term, I found an Academy there with a master who was related to the master who came to Dartmouth every week for our PE Class… and I trained there for 10 weeks.

I was hooked.

Back to my original point.  Not everyone was meant to become a martial artist. It takes discipline, commitment and a true understanding of the martial art spirit.

Now, the martial arts is a great activity for kids, especially girls, to learn self-confidence and self-defense…but the majority of kids and adults learn a little and then move on.  That’s okay.  At least they got a taste of what it means to be really disciplined and focused.

And there are those who commit their lives to learning, training and diving into the deeper mysteries of the martial arts.

I’m one of those.

Call it what you want – people put labels on anything they don’t understand.

But for me, the martial arts, traditional martial arts, is a way of life, a way of living in a disciplined, respectful and honorable environment.

Before you judge or point fingers, why don’t you check it out for yourself.

Oh, and Have a Happy New Year!

Pilseung!

For more information, check out the following:

Review of Jung SuWon

Exciting Video of Training in the Snow

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

