Reviewing “The Passion” – Class by Teacher Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim


Did you ever see the movie, The Passion?

I saw it way back when it first came out and I remember it being very powerful.  But I saw it again recently on the recommendation of my teacher, Great Grandmaster Dr. Tae Yun Kim, in honor of Easter… and the power of this movie hit me hard.

I felt incredibly intense emotions from watching this.

The Passion of the Christ

When Jesus is scourged at the pillar, I could feel the pain of his mother watching him.  I cried very intensely during this sequence of scenes.  It was like I was standing right there.

I thought about how God sacrificed His only son to save man.

I thought about the pain that Jesus had to endure as a man.

God didn’t have to let Jesus suffer like that.  He could have just whisked Jesus away from all the pain or just removed the pain at the moment.  But I’m sure God did it for a reason.  Maybe God was hoping that the soldiers would not go so far or hurt Jesus so much. Maybe God was hoping to inspire those who were watching.  Whatever the reason, I’m sure it wasn’t easy for God to watch how barbaric they were to kill Jesus as they did.  After all, if He were vengeful, God could have wiped everyone out in one second.  So I have to recognize that God did this all for a reason.  Two thousand years later, we are still learning from this event and maybe that’s why God did it.  To teach generations and generations of people about the power of Love.

When Jesus was being arrested at Gethsemane, Peter cut off a soldier’s ear in anger.  Jesus told Peter to drop the sword and then he put the ear back onto the soldier and healed him.

When he was being nailed to the cross and hung, he could only ask God to forgive them because they didn’t know what they were doing.

How many people in the world are capable of that kind of love and forgiveness?

Six years ago, Dr. Tae Yun Kim encountered betrayal from one student who had trained for over 16 years.  No matter what he did to try to hurt Dr. Kim and all of us, Dr. Kim told us to pray for him and send him love.

I had a hard time grasping that.  The pain of being betrayed is intense, and I wasn’t even the main target.

I believe God gives us these incredible challenges so that we can learn to overcome.  I definitely still have some learning to do.  I am naturally a happy and loving person.  I tend to trust people too easily and give people the benefit of the doubt.  But when someone betrays and back stabs, I have a very hard time.

Dr. Kim teaches about loving everyone, including our enemies.   I see Dr. Kim praying for people all the time, especially the ones who have hurt her.  It is truly amazing.

Something for me to learn and practice for myself…..


____________________________________________________________________

Other references:  Life Story, Sports-Squidoo, CEO of JSW, Workface, TKD Hall of Fame, The martial artistWoman’s Summit speaker, Martial Art Demos, Biography, Dojo Review, Achievements, Special Student blog, Celebration blog, Jung SuWon blog, Business Card, Pictures, Director, Recent Press Release, Amazon, Search, …

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

