Archery – 양궁


Did you see any of the archery competition at the Olympics?

Did you know that Korea has a legally blind archer??  And he’s REALLY good!!

Im Dong-hyun, who is registered as blind, set an individual world record at Lord’s and helped South Korea to a team world best. Photograph: Paul Gilham/Getty Images

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim inspires me to be the BEST I can be in whatever I do.

This morning at 6:15am, I got up to train – practice my forms and 양궁 (archery) … it was fantastic!  The early morning sky was filled with fog.  When I first approached the training area, there were about a hundred turkeys roaming around there!

I did my morning warmup (Jung SuWon style warm up exercises) and then practiced each one of my martial art forms from lowest to highest and 2 energy forms: mul kyul (물결) and nabi (나비).  It felt so GREAT to sweat!

I’m still a novice archer… but I’m getting better at actually aiming and hitting the target!  Before, months ago, I would be lucky to hit the target maybe 3 out of 10 times.  Now I hit the target mostly 10 out of 10 times!

at least I hit the target!

My next goal: Grouping.  That is trying to get all the arrows to be grouped around a common area… close together… see Paul Newman’s blog for a photo of his shooting.. where all the arrows are almost right on top of each other!

getting a little closer…

My arrows go all over the target… I haven’t yet found my groove in aiming for the same spot consistently.  But I have hit the bulls eye and close to the bulls eye several times!  It’s like hitting the sweet spot on a golf ball!  Once you do it ONCE, you’re hooked and you want to keep trying to do it again!

ALMOST!

If I weren’t training with Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim, I wouldn’t have the self-discipline or motivation to go out and do this on my own.

I love training at Jung SuWon and with Great Grandmaster Kim and my fellow warriors!  I can’t believe that it’s been over 21 years!

It’s my Great honor to be one of Great Grandmaster Kim‘s students and black belts!

I love my life!!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Archery – 양궁”

  1. Jung SuWon Publishing Says:

    Reblogged this on Inner Peace.

  2. H.Chamberlain Says:

    Reblogged this on Holly Chamberlain and commented:
    Amazing! I feel such gratitude for my eye sight and inspired by both archers’ stories and spirits.

Leave a Reply

