Snowboarding? Me??


Life has an amazing way of just teaching us great lessons if we are open and ready to receive them.

Dr. Tae Yun Kim, my mentor and Life Coach, teaches me to have an open cup, an empty mind, ready to be filled with all the great wisdom and experiences that Life has for me.

Last weekend, I went to a ski resort with some friends. I wasn’t planning to ski. I thought I would just “hang out” in the lodge, drink hot chocolate and do some social media surfing on my iPad…

But one of my friends said that she was going to take Snowboarding lessons…she was the LAST person I would have thought would try snowboarding.

Then I thought to myself, “Self, you know that Dr. Kim is always telling you to challenge yourself, to step out of your comfort zone…what are you waiting for?”

So, skiing is out of my comfort zone, but I’ve skied before, even down Black Diamond slopes…

But snowboarding is WAY out of my comfort zone. It always looked like fun, but I never thought I could actually do it.

So, on the spur of the moment, I decided to abandon the comfort of the lodge chairs and dive into the snow with a snowboarding lesson!

Well, it was WAY harder than I thought. I took a beginners class with some of my friends and we spent 2 hours sliding, falling, getting up, shuffling back to the “top” of the teaching incline and doing it all over again. Sliding, falling, getting up, etc…

The instructor was a young girl in her teens or early 20s… Snowboarding was very natural for her and she explained different aspects and had us try different things to work on very basic moves.

I tried hard to understand the logic behind the moves…but that made it impossible to actually do them.

I’d like to say I had a breakthrough and was snowboarding down the bunny slope by the end of the day…but not yet…I definitely I need more practice. A LOT More practice.

Step one: get on the training slope with a teacher and take a class: DONE

Step two: go back out and take another class, then practice, practice, practice!

I bought an annual parking pass for that ski resort… so I’m ready to go back!!!

Dr. Tae Yun Kim teaches:  Practice Your Success!

That means, step out of my comfort zone and keep practicing, practicing, practicing!

What new things are you doing out of your comfort zone? 🙂

He Can Do, She Can Do, Why Not Me!

 

Leave a Reply

