Storms and Blue Skies


Last night, it was RAINING. The wind was strong and the power went out! The storm was raging and it felt like it could go on for days.

When I woke up this morning, the sun was out, the sky was blue, the birds were chirping.

Amazing.

Sometimes a day might seem so gloomy or so depressing, all dark and cloudy, but before you know it, the sun is shining and the sky is blue.

My martial arts teacher, Dr. Tae Yun Kim, teaches that even when the sky is full of dark clouds, guess what? The sun IS STILL THERE! It’s just hiding behind the clouds. All it takes is for one cloud to move and the sun will shine brightly through the sky.

This is related to the Maybe story I talked about in the previous blog post.

Sometimes, things happen in life that are unexpected and may seem to be very negative or very depressing. We just need to remember that the SUN IS STILL THERE. So don’t get caught up in the depressing feeling…or the anger or sadness.

 

Wait? Maybe you LIKE to feel depressed or sad or angry…so you WANT to stay in that pit of despair.

I know, I was totally like that for my entire life before I started training at Jung SuWon Martial Art Academy.

When I was growing up, throughout my childhood, teenage years and even in college, I liked feeling sorry for myself. I liked feeling like the whole world was against me. I liked feeling helpless. I called it “wallowing in my own self-pity”. Of course I had to do it because no one was there for me. I was all alone.

I used to commiserate with myself and had a mantra of all the reasons why my life sucked and why no one loved me.

But you know what? Doing that was SO lazy! I didn’t want to address the issues and try to resolve them. It was just easier to just be miserable than to try to be happy in my life.

When I started training at Jung SuWon, Dr. Tae Yun Kim would teach in class and say things like “practice being happy until you actually feel happy!”

I was really confused. I didn’t see how that related to training in the martial arts. And then I felt like I would be lying if I pretended to be happy.

Great Grandmaster asked me, “Don’t you WANT to be happy?”

“Of course!” I exclaimed.

Then she said to me, “it’s not lying. You are projecting how you want to be, so you need to practice being happy. Then one day, you will start to actually FEEL happy!”

What a simple concept!

For the past 25 years, I have been doing just that… practicing being happy and you know what?

I am REALLY Happy now!!!

Dr. Kim has also said “Practice your success.”

I never thought of it like this before…I used to just drift through life, expecting things to “just happen”…but you know what?  Success doesn’t just fall in your lap.  You have to drive yourself towards it and Practice it so that you will become successful! Yes, IT TAKES WORK and ENERGY!  But you have to decide that you want to do this and then Just Do It.

Have a wonderful and beautiful day!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Storms and Blue Skies”

  1. eoaktree Says:

    Reblogged this on Site Title.

Leave a Reply

